Italiaoutdoors Travel Guide to Italy

Arezzo Province | Tuscany Region

Guide To the Arezzo Province

The province of Arezzo or Arretium, is the easternmost province in the Tuscany region of northern Italy. Its capital is the city of Arezzo. The province is bordered by the regions of Marche, Emilia-Romagna, Umbria, and the provinces Siena and Florence of Tuscany. It has a total population of about 347,000 in 37 comuni (singular: comune), and a density of 107.2 people per square kilometer. The north of the province of Arezzo contains the Pratomagno and Casentino mountain ranges and valleys, and the southern areas of the region contain the fertile Tiber and Chiana valleys. It is believed that the province was a major Etruscan urban centre known as Arretium, and a wall was built around the province in this period of rule. The Province of Arezzo is vast and varied: the terrain ranges from flatlands to hillsides to mountains. It is where four valleys meet: Valtiberina, Valdichiana, Valdarno and Casentino. Of these, the Casentino valley boasts a National Park of Casentino Forests - Monte Falterona - Campigna, one of the twenty Italian protected areas covering 34,600 hectares between the regions of Tuscany and Emilia. Here one is free to wander and to walk the spiritual streets of the Verna Sanctuary or of the Camaldoli Monastery.

Where to Go and What to See in the Arezzo Province

Arezzo, Arezzo Province Castiglion Fiorentino | Tuscany Region Rapolano Terme | Tuscany Region Monte San Savino | Tuscany Region Marciano della Chiana | Tuscany Region Foiano di Chiana | Tuscany Region Lucignano | Tuscany Region Loro Ciuffenna | Tuscany Region Civitella in Val di Chiana | Tuscany Region Poppi | Tuscany Region Focognano Castel | Tuscany Region Anghiari, Arezzo Province Cortona, Arezzo Province

What to Do In the Arezzo Province

Eat, Drink, and Sleep in the Arezzo Province

Read more: Arezzo Province | Tuscany Region