riomaggiore la spezia

Riomaggiore, situated in a small valley in the Riviera di Levante region, is the first of the Cinque Terre places one meets coming from La Spezia (the other four being Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterosso, all of them a UNESCO World Heritage Site) with its shoreline on the Gulf of Genoa, with a small beach and a wharf framed by tower houses.

Riomaggiore is the most southern town of the five Cinque Terre, all connected by rail or walking paths. The water and mountainside have been declared national parks (parco Nazionale delle Cinque Terre). The town, dating from the late 12th century, is known for its historic character and its wine, produced by the local vineyards. The Via dell'Amore is a path connecting Riomaggiore to Manarola.

Manarola, administratively belonging to Riomaggiore, is the second town in the Cinque Terre from La Spezia. In the summer months, as in all the Cinque Terre, there is a dramatic increase in tourism. Manarola is the oldest of the Cinque terre, with a cornerstone of the church dating from 1160. There are other written references from roman times, that exalt the qualities of the fine wine from the region.

La Spezia Province,, Cinque Terre,

follow us


Guide to Outdoor Recreation


Travel Guide to Italy