Venice Italy, San Marks Square Doge's Palace

The Province of Venice (Provincia di Venezia) is one of the 7 provinces in the Veneto region of northern Italy. Its capital is the city of Venice.  It has an area of 2,467 km², and a total population of about 846,962. The Province of Venice is bordered by the Province of Padova and Province of Treviso of the Veneto region, the Province of Udine of the Friuli Venezia Region, and the Adriatic Sea. You can see by looking on a map the Venezia Province is completely flat. The lagoon and much of the surrounding area is a delta formed by the Brenta River, Piave River, Livenza River, and Tagliamento River. The Venice Province is about 2,459 sq. km in size and has 43 individuals townships, and is the capital of the province and Veneto region is the city of Venice.

The Brenta and Livenza rivers flow through the province, as well as the Piave River before they flow into the Adriatic Sea or the Venetian Lagoon. The Brenta River was diverted south to Chioggia in the 16th century, when a long canal was built from the village of Stra to the Adriatic Sea, bypassing Venetian lagoon. A branch of the Brenta, named Naviglio Brenta, was left to connect the cities of Venice and Padua. The canal runs through the villages of Stra, Fiesso d'Artico, Dolo, Mira, Oriago and Malcontenta to Fusina in the north-east.

In areas bordering the Friuli Venezia Region, it is estimated that 29% of the population speaks fluent Friuli. The province offers a number of other interesting sites including Caorle on the Adriatic Sea with its narrow streets, coloured houses and cylindrical bell tower, and Jesolo, with its long sandy beach, tourist attractions and nightlife. The second largest town in the province, Chioggia, on the southern side of the Venetian Lagoon, includes canals, bridges and mansions as well as the St Felice Castle and Piazza di Vigo.


Visiting the city of Venice is a must on everyone's Italian list, however do not miss getting outside of the city and exploring.  To understand the history of the old Venezia Republic and the development of western Europe traveling in the Venice Province is a must.  

Places to Visit in the Venice Province




Where to Eat in the Venice Province

History of the Venice Province

The area was settled by 11th century BC. According to legend, Antenor fled from Troy, leading the people of Eneti from Paphlagonia to inhabit the shores of the Adriatic. In 102 B.C., The Romans defeated the Cimbri and the Germanic tribes in the area, thus increasing their influence in the region to form the Regio X Venetia et Histria. The exact date when Venice was established in unknown, but about 570 refugees from the hinterland, especially from Aquileia, fled to the islands of the Venetian Lagoon in order to escape the frequent barbaric invasions. At that time, the territory of the province was part of the Byzantine Empire, belonging to the Exarchate of Ravenna. Over the centuries, Venice became more independent and in 697 it had its first Doge. With the destruction of Eracliana in 805, the capital was moved to Rialto (Venice). In the Middle Ages, Venice became an important maritime republic, completely independent from Byzantium, and began its expansion into the hinterland. In 1260, the Ezzelini family were defeated. Threatened by the expansionist ambitions of the Visconti of Milan, in 1365, Venice began to invade neighbouring territories. By 1410, the Regio X Venetia et Histria had annexed Padua and Verona, and by the 16th century the republic included territories from the Julian Alps to Crema, Istria, Dalmatia, Cyprus and part of the Peloponnese. In 1797, Napoleon invaded the Republic and, following the Treaty of Campo Formio, it was ceded to Austria. After the final defeat of Napoleon, the Austrian Empire founded a province of Venice on the Adriatic.

Tags: Veneto Region,, Venice Province,

Venice Province Map