PLACES IN THE TREVISO PROVINCE
Towns to visit during your vacation in Treviso, Italy.
Towns to visit during your vacation in Treviso, Italy.
Montello – the “little mountain” – is without any doubt a truly special place The landscape and environmental features of this hill are unlike those of the surrounding area, shaped like a loaf of bread it easily stands out.
There is a lot of ways to discover the area within the 35 km perimeter of the Montello natural park. Caving enthusiasts can take a trip with expert guides to see some of the 91 registered caves, some of which played a key role as trenches during the Great War. Other historical sites from the Great War are marked by monuments, memorials and plaques. These include the imposing Ossuary in Nervesa della Battaglia, which is home to the Great War museum, the Francesco Baracca monument, the King’s Observation Post, the British Military Cemetery and the ruins of Sant’Eustachio Abbey.
The shape of the hill, the network of roads and the magnificent views of the valley make it an ideal location for a number of sporting activities. The area is particularly well equipped for cycling, mountain biking and hiking. There are routes to satisfy all requirements, from more demanding ones for experts to more relaxing ones for amateurs. There are also riding schools and even a golf course. After a day of sport, visitors can treat themselves to a well deserved meal in one of Montello’s characteristic rustic restaurants.
Roads known as “prese” climb up Montello. They are numbered from 1 to 21 and run through the area in a north-south direction, while the Strada Dorsale (Ridge Road) crosses the entire hill from east to west and the Stradon del Bosco (Wood Road) follows its southern boundary.
Asolo is a small town located in the Treviso Province of the Veneto Region, in northeastern Italy. Asolo s known by several names like "The city of a Hundred Horizons" because of its beautiful location. Originally the town had been settled by the Veneti and in the early Middle Ages it was under the possession of the Ezzelino family. Asolo was under the possession of the Republic of Venice from 1300 - 1700 and the famous Asolo Theater was built during in 1798 by Antonio Locatelli.
Carducci defined it as "the city of a hundred horizons" because of the beauty of its surrounding landscape, the same that Giorgione reproduced several times in his canvases. A charming medieval village nestled in the hills of Treviso; Asolo was a magnificent Renaissance court at the time of Caterina Cornaro. The town of Treviso was deeply loved by two other great women: the actress Eleonora Duse, also known as the "Divine" and the English writer and explorer, Freya Stark. Both lived in Asolo and are buried in the cemetery of Sant'Anna.
Strolling through the winding and quiet alleys, tourists will find subtle traces of the distinguished guests who appreciated its inspiration, such as the English poet Robert Browning, Pietro Bembo, one of the most famous scholars of the sixteenth century and the musician Gian Francesco Malipiero, who found inspiration for some of his compositions.
Asolo is also famous as the birth place of actress Elenora Duse, Robert Browning who was a famous English poet, Wilma Neruda the violinist, Gian Francesco Malipiero and Freya Stark who was a famous explorer.
Getting to Asolo
Asolo is located quite close to the city of Treviso so getting down to the town is not very difficult. Treviso is well connected to most destinations in Italy so visitors can easily reach Treviso from other parts of Italy and then travel to Asolo. Buses depart every few hours from Treviso from the main bus station for Asolo. The state buses are also quite comfortable and the tickets are not very expensive. Tickets are easily available at most train stations. Visitors can also easily drive down to Asolo from Treviso since it is located quite close to Asolo.
WHAT TO SEE IN ASOLO
WHERE TO STAY IN ASOLO
WHERE TO EAT IN ASOLO
The town of Oderzo, located in the Treviso Province of the Veneto, hosts some of the most beautiful medieval and renaissance architecture, in the Veneto Region. Located along the Treviso Province Bike Route this is a great stop to enjoy a cafe or lunch.
The earliest settlement in the area of Oderzo can be dated to the Iron Age, around the 10th century BC. From the mid-9th century BC the Veneti occupied site and gave it its name. Etymologically, "-terg-" in Opitergium stems from a Venetic root word indicating a market (q.v. Tergeste, the old name of Trieste). The location of Oderzo on the Venetian plain made it ideal as a center for trade.
The Veneti of Oderzo appear to have maintained friendly relations with the Romans and the population was gradually Romanized. The Via Postumia road, finished in 148 BC, increased the importance of Oderzo. During the Roman Civil War, Caius Volteius Capito, a centurion born in Oderzo, fought on the side of Julius Caesar against Pompey. In 48 BC the city was elevated to the rank of Roman municipium and its citizens assigned to the Roman tribe Papiria. With the reforms of Augustus Oderzo was incorporated into Regio X of Italia, Venetia et Histria. The Roman era witnessed prodigious building projects including a forum, a basilica, temples and many private homes. During the Marcomannic Wars in 167 CE, Opitgerium was sacked and destroyed by a force of Marcomanni and Quadi, who then went on to besiege Aquileia.
According to a local legend, Attila hid a treasure in a town's pit. Under the Byzantine Empire, it became the seat of an exarch and was held by the Byzantines until its destruction by the Lombard king Grimoald in 667. Much of its population fled to the nearby city of Heraclea, still under Byzantine control. Most of its territory passed to the Count of Ceneda. According to tradition, the first Doge of Venice, Paolo Lucio Anafesto, came from Oderzo. The town, which had grown again around a castle from c. 1000, was contended between the bishops of Belluno and Ceneda, the comune of Treviso and the feudal da Camino (originary of the Camino castle, now part of Oderzo) and da Romano families until, in 1380, it became a stable possession of the Republic of Venice.
Oderzo was annexed to the Kingdom of Italy in 1866. In 1917, during World War I, the town was damaged in the aftermath of the Italian rout at Caporetto. In 1943 it was a centre of the civil war between the German puppet Republic of Salò (RSI) and the partisan resistance. In 1945, 120 people suspected of allegiance to the RSI were executed at the Oderzo Massacre. The city was governed by the Italian Christian Democratic party from 1945–1993, and lived a notable economic boom, which also attracted a massive immigration from the southern Italy regions. The Cyclocross del Ponte Faè di Oderzo is a cyclo-cross race held in December.
Train: Oderzo can be reached from Treviso, or from connections from Conegliano and Udine.
By Car: From Treviso follow the main highway Start Road 53.
In Oderzo you can stay at the Primhotel, via Martiri di Celfalonia 13, tel: 0422713699
Gaia da Camino, via Comunale di Camino 8a, tel: 0422717886
The high walls of the medieval castle that survived the storms of history and gave its name to the city stand stately and majestic. The castle is reminiscent of the battles and rivalries between the powerful towns of Padua, Vicenza and Treviso.
The heart of Castelfranco Veneto is enclosed by a fascinating wall, one of the best preserved in Italy. Visitors will enjoy the feel of the atmosphere of this city's rich past just walking through the center. Walking through the streets picturesque places and prestigious buildings can be seen, such as the Teatro Accademico and the Palazzo del Monte di Pietà, a source of loans for the poor of the city and surrounding villages up to the 1900s.
At sunset Castelfranco shows its beauty, when the lighted castle looks like it has come out of a fairy-tale. The castle can be admired while sipping a glass of wine in one of the many venues of Piazza Giorgione or strolling through the elegant Corso XXIX Aprile, with its ancient buildings.
Castelfranco Veneto is known throughout the world for being the birthplace of Giorgione, most extraordinary and enigmatic artist of the fifteenth century. Very few precious works by this mysterious genius of light and color have been found.
The house of this extraordinary person now houses the Casa Giorgione Museum, which holds the Frieze of Liberal and Mechanical Arts, the only fresco attributed to the artist. The most famous work of the master is the Altar piece of Castelfranco that can be admired in the Duomo of S. Maria Assunta, in the Cotanzo Chapel.
HOW TO GET TO CASTELFRANCO VENETO
Castelfranco Veneto can be reached by train from Padova, Venice, or Vicenza.
WHAT TO SEE IN CASTELFRANCO VENETO
WHERE TO STAY IN CASTELFRANCO VENETO
WHERE TO EAT IN CASTELFRANCO VENETO